Skip To Content

Katie Stakes

Admissions Counselor


With being the third FSC graduate of my immediate family, I love being able to share the individualized education, tight-knit community, and signature opportunities that contribute to the Florida Southern College experience for all students. When making a decision that will determine the next four years for a student and their family, I am honored to be a part of the process and have sincere confidence in FSC to help students achieve their goals beyond the classroom.

-Katie Stakes





Where Are You From?

I am originally from Stillwater, Minnesota. I moved to Bradenton, Florida, for my sophomore - senior years of high school, and attended Braden River High School before coming to FSC!

Favorite Places to Hang Out in Lakeland

My favorite places to hang out in Lakeland include Bonnet Springs Park (it has everything from a nature walk to a science museum to a rooftop bar!), The Patio - Lakeland, Cob & Pen, and The Joinery!

Favorite Restaurant in Lakeland

My favorite local restaurant is Harry's Seafood Bar & Grille. The fresh market pasta is AMAZING. My second favorite has to be Tsunami Sushi - big sushi gal.

The Perfect Saturday

A perfect Saturday includes coffee, visiting the farmers’ market (for some fresh ingredients to cook with later), relaxing by the pool, spending time with my boyfriend and friends, cooking something new that I haven't tried, and grabbing a drink downtown.

Favorite TV Shows/Books

I love romance books - Nicholas Sparks is one of my favorites (so happy he visits FSC so often!). I am a big reality TV girl - love Bravo! I also always find myself watching the latest true crime documentaries on Netflix.

Something Surprising About Me

Something surprising about me is that I love to travel. Some of my favorite international highlights are Australia, Singapore, and France.


B.S. in Citrus and Horticultural Science with concentrations in Citrus and Business, minor in Business


In my spare time, I love reading and listening to true crime podcasts, spending time outside (pool, beach, and lake laps with my pup), and cooking!