Meet Our Faculty

Meet Our Faculty

 

Teaching is the top priority here. And FSC’s student-faculty ratio of 13:1 means that you’ll develop close relationships with your professors.

“Teachers, mentors, friends”—that’s the way Florida Southern students describe their faculty. Our accomplished scholars are dedicated to helping you thrive.

While faculty members are authors, artists, and researchers, immersed in scholarly and creative projects, they are teachers first and foremost, committed to making stimulating and engaging opportunities available to you—work closely with you both in and out of the classroom.

School of Arts & Sciences

is located in the
Christoverson Humanities (CH) building on Johnson Street and Lake Hollingsworth Drive

863.680.4970 (phone)
863.680.4147 (fax)

School of Arts and Sciences

Art and Art History

Photo: William J. Otremsky

William J. Otremsky

Professor of Art
Department Chair

Phone 863.680.4224
E-mail wotremsky@flsouthern.edu

Photo: H. Alexander Rich

H. Alexander Rich

Assistant Professor of Art History
Art History Program Director
Director of the Melvin & Burks Galleries

Phone 863.680.4223
E-mail arich@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Samuel Romero

Samuel Romero

Associate Professor of Art

Phone 863.680.4222
E-mail sromero@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Kelly Sturhahn

Kelly Sturhahn

Associate Professor of Art
Foundations Program Director

Phone 863.680.3018
E-mail ksturhahn@flsouthern.edu

Art and Art History Adjunct Faculty

Eric Blackmore

Adjunct Faculty

Phone 863.680.4743
E-mail eblackmore@earthlink.net

Sarah Brewington

Adjunct Faculty

Phone 863.680.4743
E-mail sarahdbrew@gmail.com

Beth Ford

Adjunct Faculty

Phone 863.680.4743
E-mail bethfordart@verizon.net

Adam N. Justice

Adjunct Faculty

Phone 863.680.4743
E-mail ajustice@flsouthern.edu

Elyse D. Justice

Adjunct Faculty

Phone 863.680.4743
E-mail egerstenecker@flsouthern.edu

Patricia K. Lamb

Adjunct Faculty

Phone 863.680.4743
E-mail plamb@flsouthern.edu

Joseph Mitchell

Adjunct Faculty

Phone 863.680.6259
E-mail jmitchell@flsouthern.edu

Biology

Photo: Susan Banks

Susan Banks

Assistant Professor of Biology

Phone 863.680.4325
E-mail sbanks@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Celina Bellanceau

Celina Bellanceau

Instructor of Biology

Phone 863.680.4490
E-mail cbellanceau@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Christopher Brandon

Christopher Brandon

Visiting Assistant Professor of Biology

Phone 863.680.4353
E-mail cbrandon@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Jamielyn Daugherty

Jamielyn Daugherty

Visiting Instructor in Biology

E-mail jdaugherty@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Bryan Franks

Bryan Franks

Assistant Professor of Marine Biology

Phone 863.680.4351
E-mail bfranks@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Brittany Gasper

Brittany Gasper

Assistant Professor of Biology

Phone 863.680.4998
E-mail bgasper@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Laura Habegger

Laura Habegger

Visiting Assistant Professor of Biology

Phone 863.680.3970
E-mail lhabegger@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Eric Kjellmark

Eric Kjellmark

Professor of Biology

Phone 863.680.6284
E-mail ekjellmark@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Gabriel Langford

Gabriel Langford

Associate Professor of Biology

Phone 863.680.4318
E-mail glangford@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Melanie Langford

Melanie Langford

Assistant Professor of Marine Biology

Phone 863.680.4580
E-mail mlangford@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Timothy Moore

Timothy Moore

Visiting Instructor of Biology

E-mail tmoore@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Nancy Morvillo

Nancy Morvillo

Professor of Biology
Department Chair

Phone 863.680.6240
E-mail nmorvillo@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Kristian Taylor

Kristian Taylor

Assistant Professor of Marine Biology

Phone 863.680.5088
E-mail ktaylor2@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Christy Wolovich

Christy Wolovich

Associate Professor of Biology

Phone 863.680.4316
E-mail cwolovich@flsouthern.edu

Chemistry and Physics

Photo: Deborah Bromfield Lee

Deborah Bromfield Lee

Assistant Professor of Chemistry

Phone 863.680.4316
E-mail dbromfieldlee@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Jarrod F. Eubank

Jarrod F. Eubank

Assistant Professor of Chemistry

Phone 863.680.4199
E-mail jeubank@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Carmen Gauthier

Carmen Gauthier

Professor of Chemistry
Department Chair

Phone 863.680.4320
E-mail cgauthier@flsouthern.edu

Photo: An-Phong Le

An-Phong Le

Assistant Professor of Chemistry

Phone 863.680.4132
E-mail ale@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Jason Montgomery

Jason Montgomery

Associate Professor of Chemistry

Phone 863.680.4322
E-mail jmontgomery@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Ronald Pepino

Ronald Pepino

Assistant Professor of Physics

Phone 863.680.3776
E-mail rpepino@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Shameka Shelby

Shameka Shelby

Assistant Professor of Chemistry

Phone 863.680.4128
E-mail sshelby@flsouthern.edu

Citrus

Photo: Malcolm Manners

Malcolm Manners

Professor of Citrus Science
Program Coordinator

Phone 863.680.4337
E-mail mmanners@flsouthern.edu

Photo: N. Curtis Peterson III

N. Curtis Peterson III

Professor of Citrus Science

Phone 863.680.4491
E-mail npeterson@flsouthern.edu

Communication

Photo: William Allen

William Allen

Associate Professor of Digital Media

Phone 863.680.4979
E-mail wallen@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Mary Beth Bradford

Mary Beth Bradford

Assistant Professor of Communication

Phone 863.680.3895
E-mail mbradford@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Robert S. Drake Jr.

Robert S. Drake Jr.

Instructor of Communication

Phone 863.680.4133
E-mail rdrake@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Pamela Dykes

Pamela Dykes

Visiting Assistant Professor of Communication

Phone 863.680.6168
E-mail pdykes@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Autumn Grubb

Autumn Grubb

Director of Teaching and Learning Center and Assoc. Professor of Education

Phone 863.680.5118
E-mail agrubb@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Katherine Loh

Katherine Loh

Visiting Assistant Professor of Communication

Phone 863.680.4151
E-mail kloh@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Cara Mackie

Cara Mackie

Associate Professor of Communication

Phone 863.680.3863
E-mail cmackie@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Theresa MacNeil

Theresa MacNeil

Assistant Professor of Communication

Phone 863.680.4158
E-mail tmacneil@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Alex Ortiz

Alex Ortiz

Associate Professor of Communication
Department Chair

Phone 863.680.3003
E-mail aortiz@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Mike Trice

Mike Trice

Associate Professor of Communication

Phone 863.680.4155
E-mail mtrice@flsouthern.edu

Computer Science

Photo: Sree Malladi

Sree Malladi

Visiting Associate Professor of Computer Science

Phone 863.680.4316
E-mail smalladi@flsouthern.edu

Photo: David Mathias

David Mathias

Assistant Professor of Computer Science
Department Chair

Phone 863.680.6283
E-mail hmathias@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Christian Roberson

Christian Roberson

Assistant Professor of Computer Science

Phone 863.680.4333
E-mail croberson@flsouthern.edu

Criminology

Photo: Chastity Blankenship

Chastity Blankenship

Assistant Professor of Social Science

Phone 863.680.4268
E-mail cblankenship@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Lisa Carter

Lisa Carter

Assistant Professor of Criminology

Phone 863.680.4307
E-mail lcarter@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Risdon Slate

Risdon Slate

Professor of Criminology
Department Chair

Phone 863.680.4339
E-mail rslate@flsouthern.edu

Dance

Photo: Erin LaSala

Erin LaSala

Assistant Professor of Dance
Program Coordinator

E-mail elasala@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Leah Pinder

Leah Pinder

Adjunct Professor

E-mail lpinder@flsouthern.edu

English

Photo: Erica H. Bernheim

Erica H. Bernheim

Associate Professor of English

Phone 863.680.4324
E-mail ebernheim@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Louis Di Leo

Louis Di Leo

Assistant Professor of English

E-mail ldileo@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Catherine R. Eskin

Catherine R. Eskin

Associate Professor of English

Phone 863.680.4345
E-mail ceskin@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Keith Huneycutt

Keith Huneycutt

Professor of English

Phone 863.680.4344
E-mail khuneycutt@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Rebecca Saulsbury Bravard

Rebecca Saulsbury Bravard

Associate Professor of English

Phone 863.680.4348
E-mail rbravard@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Peter Schreffler

Peter Schreffler

Associate Professor of English
Department Chair

Phone 863.680.4343
E-mail pschreffler@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Claudia Slate

Claudia Slate

Professor of English

Phone 863.680.4342
E-mail cslate@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Margaret Taylor

Margaret Taylor

Assistant Professor of English

Phone 863.680.4240
E-mail mtaylor2@flsouthern.edu

History and Political Science

Photo: R. Bruce Anderson

R. Bruce Anderson

Associate Professor of Political Science; Pre-Law Adviser

Phone 863.680.4311
E-mail randerson2@flsouthern.edu

Photo: James M. Denham

James M. Denham

Professor of History
Department Chair

Phone 863.680.4312
E-mail jdenham@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Kelly McHugh

Kelly McHugh

Assistant Professor of Political Science

E-mail kmchugh@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Colleen Moore

Colleen Moore

Assistant Professor of History

Phone 863.680.4301
E-mail cmoore2@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Erika Vause

Erika Vause

Assistant Professor of History

E-mail evause@flsouthern.edu

Mathematics

Photo: Roxanne Back

Roxanne Back

Associate Professor of Mathematics

Phone 863.680.4982
E-mail rback@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Lisa DeCastro

Lisa DeCastro

Assistant Professor of Mathematics

Phone 863.680.4852
E-mail ldecastro@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Ersin Deger

Ersin Deger

Visiting Assistant Professor of Mathematics

Phone 863.680.3746
E-mail mdeger@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Silvano Falcao

Silvano Falcao

Visiting Instructor of Mathematics

Phone 863.680.3746
E-mail sfalcao@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Daniel Jelsovsky

Daniel Jelsovsky

Associate Professor of Mathematics

Phone 863.680.3748
E-mail djelsovsky@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Susan Serrano

Susan Serrano

Associate Professor of Mathematics
Department Chair

Phone 863.680.4331
E-mail sserrano@flsouthern.edu

Photo: David Valdivia Jr.

David Valdivia Jr.

Assistant Professor of Mathematics

Phone 863.680.3770
E-mail avaldivia@flsouthern.edu

Modern Languages

Photo: Jose Manuel Garcia

Jose Manuel Garcia

Associate Professor of Spanish
Program Coordinator

Phone 863.680.4309
E-mail jgarcia@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Melissa Garr

Melissa Garr

Assistant Professor of Spanish

Phone 863.680.4201
E-mail mgarr@flsouthern.edu

Music

Photo: Brian Brink

Brian Brink

Associate Professor of Music
Trombone

Phone 863.680.4574
E-mail bbrink@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Lawrence Burke

Lawrence Burke

Associate Professor of Music
Tuba, Euphonium

Phone 863.680.4136
E-mail lburke@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Fen-Fang Chen

Fen-Fang Chen

Assistant Professor of Music
Piano

Phone 863.680.4230
E-mail fchen@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Mary Elizabeth Gibbs

Mary Elizabeth Gibbs

Associate Professor of Music; Director of Choral Studies

Phone 863.680.4232
E-mail mgibbs@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Jo Jossim

Jo Jossim

Professor of Music

Phone 863.680.4213
E-mail jjossim@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Kira Omelchenko

Kira Omelchenko

Assistant Professor of Music
Orchestra Conductor
Director of Strings

Phone 863.680.4216
E-mail komelchenko@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Michael Parks

Michael Parks

Visiting Assistant Professor of Music Education

Phone 863.680.3942
E-mail mparks@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Paula Parsché

Paula Parsché

Associate Professor of Music
Department Chair

Phone 863.680.4233
E-mail pparsche@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Diane Willis Stahl

Diane Willis Stahl

Associate Professor of Music
Director of Voice Studies

Phone 863.680.4215
E-mail dstahl@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Mark Thomsen

Mark Thomsen

Professor of Music/Artist in Residence

Phone 863.680.4737
E-mail mthomsen@flsouthern.edu

Music Adjunct Faculty

Rimma Bergeron-Langlois

Adjunct Faculty – Violin

Phone 863.680.3867
E-mail gabriel.rimma@hotmail.com

Colleen Blagov

Adjunct Faculty - Flute

Phone 863.680.4575
E-mail flautoprimo@hotmail.com

Paul Butcher

Adjunct Faculty - Jazz Studies

Phone 863.680.4398
E-mail pbutcher@flsouthern.edu

Troy Chang

Adjunct Faculty - Cello

Phone 863.680.4733
E-mail troy.chang@gmail.com

David Coash

Adjunct Faculty - Percussion

Phone 863.680.5020
E-mail davecoash@gmail.com

Pamela Cole

Adjunct Faculty - Piano

Phone 863.680.5099
E-mail pcole@flsouthern.edu

Christina Dominski-Sale

Adjunct Faculty - Voice

Phone 863.680.6262
E-mail cdmezzo1@aol.com

Sue Fee

Adjunct Faculty - Collaborative Piano Staff

Phone 863.680.3099
E-mail cfee@tampabay.rr.com

Patrick Fleitz

Adjunct Faculty - Music Appreciation

Phone 863.680.4229
E-mail pfleitzpiano@gmail.com

Valerie Gillespie

Adjunct Faculty - Saxophone

Phone 863.680.3923
E-mail valerie@valeriegillespie.com

Melissa Gilmer

Adjunct Faculty - Voice

Phone 863.680.6262
E-mail mgi3641314@aol.com

Ian Goodman

Adjunct Faculty - Percussion (Drum Set)

Phone 863.680.4229
E-mail jazzma3110@hotmail.com

Jenny Heidtman

Adjunct Faculty – Voice

Phone 863.680.4284
E-mail jennyheidtman@yahoo.com

Stacey McColley

Adjunct Faculty - Clarinet

Phone 863.680.6239
E-mail swmccolley@mac.com

Don McLaurin

Adjunct Faculty - Trumpet

Phone 863.680.4494
E-mail dmclaurin@flsouthern.edu

Jay Mueller

Adjunct Faculty - Jazz Bass

Phone 863.680.4229
E-mail jmuel58@att.net

Stas Omelchenko

Adjunct Faculty - Theory and Composition

Phone 863.680.5078
E-mail somelchenko@flsouthern.edu

Edward Paulsen

Adjunct Faculty - Double Bass

Phone 863.680.4271
E-mail edwardpaulsen@gmail.com

Michael Sedloff

Adjunct Faculty - Strings Pedagogy

Phone 863.680.4284
E-mail cello57@aol.com

Richard Sparrow

Adjunct Faculty - Horn

Phone 863.680.3968
E-mail rsparrow@flsouthern.edu

Mark Switzer

Adjunct Faculty - Classical Guitar

Phone 863.680.4271
E-mail mswitzer@hccfl.edu

Fernando Traba

Adjunct Faculty - Bassoon

Phone 863.680.3923
E-mail ftraba@msn.com

Psychology

Photo: Bruce Darby

Bruce Darby

Professor of Psychology
Department Chair

Phone 863.680.3096
E-mail bdarby@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Leilani Goodmon

Leilani Goodmon

Associate Professor of Psychology

Phone 863.680.4303
E-mail lgoodmonriley@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Charlie Law

Charlie Law

Assistant Professor of Psychology

Phone 863.680.5049
E-mail claw@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Cleve Mortimer

Cleve Mortimer

Visiting Instructor of Psychology

E-mail dmortimer@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Deah Quinlivan

Deah Quinlivan

Assistant Professor of Psychology

Phone 863.680.4476
E-mail dquinlivan@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Patrick Smith

Patrick Smith

Associate Professor of Psychology

Phone 863.680.4477
E-mail psmith@flsouthern.edu

Religion and Philosophy

Photo: Sara Fletcher Harding

Sara Fletcher Harding

Professor of Religion

Phone 863.680.4185
E-mail sharding@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Brian Hamilton

Brian Hamilton

Assistant Professor of Religion

Phone 863.680.4204
E-mail bhamilton@flsouthern.edu

Photo: R. Frank Johnson

R. Frank Johnson

Professor of Religion and Philosophy

Phone 863.680.4182
E-mail rjohnson@flsouthern.edu

Photo: H.A. Nethery IV

H.A. Nethery IV

Assistant Professor of Philosophy

Phone 863.680.4949
E-mail hnethery@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Waite Willis, Jr.

Waite Willis, Jr.

Professor of Religion
Department Chair

Phone 863.680.4183
E-mail wwillis@flsouthern.edu

Theatre Arts

Photo: Mary T Albright

Mary T Albright

Instructor of Theatre Arts

Phone 863.680.4137
E-mail malbright@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Paul Bawek

Paul Bawek

Associate Professor of Theatre Arts

Phone 863.680.4184
E-mail pbawek@flsouthern.edu

Photo: James Beck

James Beck

Associate Professor of Theatre Arts
Department Chair

Phone 863.680.4227
E-mail jbeck@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Christianne Roll

Christianne Roll

Assistant Professor of Musical Theatre
Musical Theatre Program Coordinator

Phone 863.680.3015
E-mail croll@flsouthern.edu