Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Council

Mission

To identify, recommend, and support the implementation of policy and process solutions that enable our campus community to embrace diversity, nurture inclusivity, incorporate accessibility, and pursue equity.

These principles will be reflected in our internal and external communications, as well as in campus educational experiences, programs, and activities, such that Black, other students, faculty and staff of color, and other underrepresented groups are recognized and supported. This will empower our campus community members to learn and grow as we appreciate our value in an ever-changing global community.

To do this the Council will:

  • Identify ways that the FSC community can educate its members about racial inequality and social injustice;
  • Support actions that the FSC community can pursue to be positive voices for justice, inclusion, and peace;Support actions that the FSC community can pursue to be positive voices for justice, inclusion, and peace;
  • Through the Councils’ Committees, include students, faculty, staff, and alumni leaders in plans to develop a deeper understanding of race bias and strategies for reducing it;
  • Oversee plans to educate students, faculty and staff about issues relating to racial inequality and social justice; and
  • Provide an evaluation assessment to measure FSC’s progress.

The outcomes of this Council will build a college community that serves as an exemplar of educational opportunity and success for students of color and will develop high-impact practices that will be a model for other institutions.

In the News

tim askew

Lift Every Voice and Sing: Black History Month Speaker at...

Florida Southern College is hosting Dr. Timothy Askew for a Black History Month event i...

annie pfiffer chapel

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Council Report of Recomme...

The Florida Southern College Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Council (DEIC) began work ...

Florida Southern welcome sign

FSC Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Council Discusses Wo...

A message from Florida Southern's Chief Diversity Officer

Florida Southern College Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Council

Members

Council Representation Member Email Phone
FSC President Dr. Anne Kerr akerr@flsouthern.edu 863.680.4111
Trustee, Council Chair Evett L. Simmons, Esq. esimmons@sfwlegalteam.com 772.873.5900
Cell: 772.342.7713
Provost Brad Hollingshead bhollingshead@flsouthern.edu 863.680.4124
Vice President of Enrollment Management Marketing John Grundig jgrundig@flsouthern.edu 863.680.6212
Interim Vice President of Student Life Lauren Albaum lalbaum@flsouthern.edu 863.680.4390
Dean of the School of Nursing and Health Sciences Linda Comer lcomer@flsouthern.edu 763.680.4115
President of SGA Carter Webb sga_pres@mocs.flsouthern.edu 407.761.6075
President of Multicultural Council Sophia Francisco sophiaefrancisco8@gmail.com 954.319.1575
Student-at-Large Anna Abell annareneew@gmail.com 719.300.9605
Student-at-Large Blake Loughrey blakeloughrey@gmail.com 612.615.6132
Rev. Pasadena Community Church Rev. Corey Jones ’05 coreyj@pccumc.org Cell: 863.255.0284
Director Evett Simmons Center for Multicultural Appreciation Vanessa Beckham vbeckham@flsouthern.edu 863.680.6285
Coordinator First Generation Prog. Thomas Range trange@flsouthern.edu 863.680.4217
Head Athletic Trainer Reg Mungrue rmungrue@flsouthern.edu 863.680.4267
863.712.0261
Professor of Arts Christianne Roll croll@flsouthern.edu 863.680.3015
Professor of Chemistry Dr. Shameka Shelby sshelby@flsouthern.edu 863.680.4128
Professor of Communication Dr. Pamela Dykes pdykes@flsouthern.edu 863.680.6168
Professor of Education Dr. Becky Powell rpowell@flsouthern.edu 863.680.3777
Professor of Languages Dr. Jose Garcia jgarcia@flsouthern.edu 863.680.4309
Associate Professor of Management and MBA Director Dr. Krista Lewellyn klewellyn@flsouthern.edu 863.680.4285
Professor of Philosophy Dr. H.A. Nethery hnethery@flsouthern.edu 863.680.4949
Professor of Physical Therapy Dr. Prisca Collins pcollins@flsouthern.edu 863.680.4525
Professor of Religion Dr. Kyle Fedler kfedler@flsouthern.edu 863.680.4182
Professor of Sciences Dr. Johnathan Cazalas jcazalas@flsouthern.edu 863.680.6283
Chief Diversity Officer – DEIC Advisor Wilhelmina Tribble wtribble@flsouthern.edu 863.680.6250

Questions? Contact

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Council