Skip to main content

Student Government


The Student Government Association is the coordinating and regulating agency of the student body and campus activities.

SGA serves as the voice of the student body in matters involving the college administration, faculty, and staff. SGA is responsible for the disbursement of student activity fees to Florida Southern organizations. SGA also works to create campus unity through campus pride, appreciation, and events.

2016-2017 Executive Board

Chase Hoyt
Chase Hoyt

SGA Executive President

Joey ArteagaJoey Arteaga

Executive Vice President

Samantha (Sammy) Arroyo

Samantha (Sammy) Arroyo
Academics Vice President

Lindsey English

Lindsey English
Finance Vice President

Caitlyn Johnson

Caitlyn Johnson
Community and Public Relations Vice President

Tim Doyle

Tim Doyle

Grace Diaz

Grace Diaz
Student Activities Vice President


Mission Statement

We, the Student Government Association of Florida Southern College, strive to empower, communicate, and promote unity through education and service in order to represent the Student Body. As members of the campus community, we are dedicated to developing relationships, facilitating changes which benefit students, and improving the quality of student life. We will accomplish these goals while upholding the values and integrity of our college.

Governing Documents

SGA Structure

SGA Executive

Presidents’ Circle

It is mandatory for all recognized student organizations to send one representative. Representatives can represent up to two organizations, with one vote per organization.


All positions in the Senate are elected by the student body. There are Senators representing each major division:

  • Business and Economics
  • Education & Physical Education
  • Fine, Applied & Performing Arts
  • Health Professionals
  • Natural Science
  • Social & Behavioral Science
  • First-Year Student/Undeclared

All Executive Officers are also members of the Senate.

If you have any comments, suggestions, or questions, please contact SGA’s Executive Officers at