COVID-19 Resources

Internship Planning

Internship Planning at Florida Southern College

Internships are a crucial part of experiential education — giving you the exposure, training, and mentorship necessary for a successful career in a highly competitive job market.

Internships incorporate knowledge and theory from the classroom with practical application and employability skill development in a professional setting. Internships can be completed for academic credit or for experience. Additionally, internships may be paid or unpaid.

Experiential learning takes many forms so try not to get caught up in the job title. Whether it is called a co-op, internship, volunteer experience, professional observation opportunity, field study, research assistant, part-time job, or clinicals, many of these opportunities will provide comprable benefits and may qualify as an internship for academic credit.

Eligibility

Below constitutes basic eligibility for all Florida Southern College students. Meeting minimum requirements does not guarantee internship eligibility as additional requirements, stipulated by individual departments, may apply.

Minimum Eligibility

  1. Have completed a minimum of 12 credits at Florida Southern College 
  2. Have obtained a minimum 2.0 cumulative GPA
  3. Obtain approval from their respective Department Chair and/or Internship Coordinator

All information above is subject to change and represent minimum eligibility criteria. Certain departments have additional requirements beyond those listed above. Final eligibility is determined by your internship coordinator.

Securing an Internship

  1. Contact the Internship Coordinator for your major to discuss your interests and eligibility. These individuals can assist you in locating internship opportunities and preparing an application (if necessary).
    • Many internships fill months in advance, so it is strongly recommended that you contact your Internship Coordinator a minimum of 8 weeks in advance of your intended start date.
  2. Once your internship is secured, you must complete the required paperwork and report your experience.
    • Internships for academic credit: all paperwork must be submitted and approved prior to the start of the semester.

Report your Career-Related Experiences!

Find forms to report your internships, part-time jobs, volunteer experiences, etc.

Report Career-Related Experiences

Program Specific Internship Coordinators

Some departments have a specialized internship coordinator while others may work with a variety of faculty in their department.

Hayley Ross, hross@flsouthern.edu  

  • Applied Mathematics & Statistics
  • Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
  • Biotechnology
  • Chemistry
  • Computer Science
  • Environmental Studies
  • Marine Biology
  • Mathematics
  • Medical Laboratory Sciences
  • Pre-Professional/Pre-Health

Bruce Anderson, randerson2@flsouthern.edu

  • Political Science
  • Pre-Law

Jeffrey Benatar, jbenatar@flsouthern.edu

  • Music

H. Bernard Davis, hdavis@flsouthern.edu

  • MBA
  • MAcc

Deah Quinlivan, dquinlivan@flsouthern.edu

  • Psychology

Lauren Albaum, lalbaum@flsouthern.edu 

  • Accounting
  • Business Administration
  • Business & Free Enterprise
  • Economics & Finance
  • Marketing
  • Sport Business Management

Waite Willis, wwillis@flsouthern.edu

  • Philosophy
  • Religion

Malcolm Manners, mmanners@flsouthern.edu

  • Citrus & Horticultural Science

Christine Morgan, cmorgans@flsouthern.edu

  • Physical Therapy
Judy Risko, jrisko@flsouthern.edu

 

  • Nursing

Judy Senzamici, jsenzamici@flsouthern.edu

  • Education

Risdon Slate, rslate@flsouthern.edu

  • Criminology

Sara Terrell, sterrell@flsouthern.edu

  • Exercise Science

Mike Trice, mtrice@flsouthern.edu

  • Communication
  • Sports Communication and Marketing

For all other programs, please contact Dr. Tracey Tedder, ttedder@flsouthern.edu, or your faculty advisor for more information.