All vehicles operated on the campus of Florida Southern College by students, faculty or staff must be registered with the campus safety office within 24 hours of such use.
Regulations are in effect and enforced throughout the academic year (September 1 through August 31). The enforcement of these regulations is the responsibility of the Department of Safety and Security.
Any vehicle that requires a state driver’s license for operation, and state registration (license plate) is classified as a motor vehicle. This includes all rental, loaner, and family vehicles in use by a student.
Vehicle privileges will be extended to a student (and college personnel) who files an application with the Safety Office and agrees to comply with the motor vehicle regulations.
Florida Southern College does not assume any liability for the care and/or protection of any vehicle or its contents while parked on campus. All vehicles should be locked when left unattended.
Reserved parking on campus is in effect from 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM, and designated parking on campus is in effect from 7:00 AM to 7:00 PM, Monday through Friday, unless otherwise indicated at the location.
Note: When several vehicles park in such a manner, the situation is unsafe. Contributing to the unsafe condition will result in a violation notice. Leave the area and return at a more appropriate time.
The Vehicle Registration Form can be found on the Portal.
Vehicle permits are registered to one person and are not transferable to another person. Only one permit will be issued at any one time to a student. Please report the loss or theft of a permit immediately in order for a replacement to be purchased.
The vehicle permit is to be placed inside the vehicle on the driver’s side rear window with the appropriate side facing out. For students, the permit is to be transferred to each vehicle as the vehicle is operated by the registrant.
A current permit may be canceled by notifying the Safety Office in person when application for a replacement permit is made. Replacement permits carry the same cost as an original permit (see fee schedule). Temporary permits are also available for those who make application and will have a vehicle on campus for a short period of time (during school breaks, for parents, registered guests, vehicles, etc.) All regular parking permits are valid for one (1) academic year (September 1 through August 31), regardless of the date of admission to FSC. Only the fee amount is reduced according to the time of purchase.
If you reside in one of the following residential communities, there is a new fee system for your parking permits, these locations include:
There are two (2) different permit types and two (2) different costs:
Permit Option #1
If you choose this option you agree not to drive your vehicle to campus, between the hours of 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM, Monday through Friday. If your vehicle is found on campus during 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM, Monday through Friday, excluding holidays and college breaks, you will be assessed a fine of $100.00. This fine will immediately be billed to your student account and there will be no appealing the citation. If you receive 3 such violations, in the same semester, your vehicle will be towed off campus, at the owner’s expense, and you will lose your parking privileges.
This permit charge is to encourage you to use alternative methods in coming to campus, such as bicycling, taking the shuttle service, or walking.
Permit Option #2
This option allows you to park on campus anytime, except for special event restrictions.
Cases involving liability or revocation of motor vehicle privileges are to be referred to the proper college authority for disciplinary action.
In the event that a motor vehicle registrant’s privileges are revoked, he/she must act accordingly. The vehicle must immediately be taken home (off campus) and a statement submitted from the registrant, registrant’s parents or guardian that this has been accomplished. If the registrant’s permanent home address (distance) prohibits this removal, the registrant must then place his/her vehicle in storage, at the registrant’s cost, off campus or make other arrangements to remove the vehicle(s).
The following examples may result in a fine and/or administrative action, including the loss of motor vehicle privileges.
In such situations, a registrant will no longer be permitted to maintain or operate a vehicle on campus.
Each semester, fines will be doubled upon receipt of the third ticket for the same offense.
To dispute the validity of an issued Florida Southern College Violation Notice (ticket), the recipient must appear in person at the Safety Office and complete the appropriate form. This must be filed prior to the date the violation notice is due. If an appeal is not filed as stated, the violation is considered valid and the fine will be assessed to the permit holder’s student account in the Business Office.
The appellant will be contacted regarding the outcome of the appeal. As stated on the appeal form, all decisions are final. An appeal granted in the appellant’s favor does not constitute permission to continue to violate the same regulation or continue to park in the same manner. A granted appeal simply means that leniency was afforded for chargeable fines.