Meet our Faculty

Meet Our Faculty

Everyone remembers a teacher that made an extraordinary impact on their life.

The School of Education at Florida Southern is filled with faculty members who possess the talent and dedication to become those special teachers for you, and will transform you into an exceptional teacher for your students.

Education majors benefit from limited class sizes, ensuring that they have the opportunity to engage with their professors. All of our education faculty members hold a master’s degree or higher and bring an average of 20 years of teaching and administrative experience to the classroom. This combination of academic and real-world knowledge creates a rich learning environment for students: not only do they learn best practices from their books, but that knowledge is enhanced by the real-life lessons shared by their professors.

Our Faculty

Karen I. Aponte

Karen I. Aponte, Ed.D.
Assistant Professor of Education
863.680.6280
kaponte@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Bernando Blanco

Bernardo Blanco, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Education
863.680.4114
bblanco@flsouthern.edu

Peter Castelli

Perry A. Castelli, Ph.D.
Professor, Hazel Haley Endowed Chair of Education
863.680.6289
pcastelli@flsouthern.edu

Donna Davis

Donna Davis, M.Ed.
Director of Pre-Service and Professional Education Programs
863.680.4958
ddavis@flsouthern.edu

Robert W. Helmick

Robert W. Helmick, Ed.D.
Assistant Professor of Education
863.680.4170
rhelmick@flsouthern.edu

Steven G. Petrie

Steven G. Petrie, Ed.D.
Ed.D Program Coordinator and Assistant Professor
863.680.5023
spetrie@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Lori Rakes

Lori Rakes, M.Ed.
Instructor of Education
863.680.4179
lrakes@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Judy Senzamici

Judy L. Senzamici, M.A.
Instructor of Education
863.680.3743
jsenzamici@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Brooke Veal

Brooke Veal, M.A.
Director of Field Studies / Evening Education Programs
863.680.5004
bveal@flsouthern.edu


MEd/MAT Faculty

Photo: Bernando Blanco

Bernardo Blanco, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Education
863.680.4114
bblanco@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Derrell Bryan

Derrell Bryan
Adjunct Faculty
dbryan@flsouthern.edu

Peter Castelli

Perry A. Castelli, Ph.D.
Professor, Hazel Haley Endowed Chair of Education
863.680.6289
pcastelli@flsouthern.edu

Robert W. Helmick

Robert W. Helmick, Ed.D.
Assistant Professor of Education
863.680.4170
rhelmick@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Martha Santiago

Martha Santiago
Adjunct Faculty
msantiago@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Ruth Sylvester

Ruth Sylvester
Adjunct Faculty
bsylvester@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Berney Wilkinson

Berney Wilkinson
Adjunct Faculty
bwilkinson@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Lynda Wolverton

Lynda Wolverton
Adjunct Faculty
lwolverton@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Brooke Veal

Brooke Veal, M.A.
Director of Education Graduate Programs
863.680.5004
bveal@flsouthern.edu


EdD Faculty

Photo: Sherri Albritton

Sherri Albritton
Adjunct Faculty
salbritton@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Derrell Bryan

Derrell Bryan
Adjunct Faculty
dbryan@flsouthern.edu

Tracey Tedder

Tracey Tedder, Ed.D.
Dean, School of Education
863.680.4172
ttedder@flsouthern.edu

Steve PetrieSteven G. Petrie, Ed.D.
Ed.D Program Coordinator and Assistant Professor
863.680.5023
spetrie@flsouthern.edu
Photo: Michelle Polk

Michelle Polk
Adjunct Faculty
mpolk@flsouthern.edu


School of EDUCATION

is located in Edge Hall (E)

863.680.4172 (phone)
863.680.4102 (fax)

To learn more about program offerings, contact:

Photo: Dr. Tracey TedderTracey Tedder, Ed.D.
Dean, School of Education
Nina B. Hollis Endowed Chair of Education

ttedder@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Jan RegisterJan Register
Administrative Assistant
jregister@flsouthern.edu
863.680.4172


Connect With Us

Facebook Twitter

Stay on top of the latest events and announcements.