Meet Our Faculty

Teaching is the top priority here. And FSC's student-faculty ratio of 13:1 means that you’ll develop close relationships with your professors.

"Teachers, mentors, friends"—that's the way Florida Southern students describe their faculty. Our accomplished scholars are dedicated to helping you thrive.

While faculty members are authors, artists, and researchers, immersed in scholarly and creative projects, they are teachers first and foremost, committed to making stimulating and engaging opportunities available to you—work closely with you both in and out of the classroom.


School of Arts & Sciences

is located in the
Christoverson Humanities (CH) building on Johnson Street & Lake Hollingsworth Drive

863.680.4970 (phone)
863.680.4147 (fax)

 

Art & Art History

Photo: William Otremsky

William J. Otremsky
Professor of Art
863.680.4224
wotremsky@flsouthern.edu

Photo: James Rogers

James G. Rogers, Jr.
Professor of Art History
863.680.4334
jrogers@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Samuel Romero

Samuel Romero
Assistant Professor of Art and Graphic Design
863.680.4222
sromero@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Kelly Sturhahn

Kelly A. Sturhahn
Assistant Professor of Art
863.680.3018
ksturhahn@flsouthern.edu

 

Biology

Photo: Celina Bellanceau

Celina Bellanceau
Visiting Instructor of Biology
863.680.4490
cbellanceau@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Emily L. Bradshaw

Emily L. Bradshaw
Assistant Professor of Biology
863.680.6580
ebradshaw@flsouthern.edu

Dr. Bryan Franks

Bryan Franks
Assistant Professor of Biology
863.680.4351
bfranks@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Brittany J. Gasper

Brittany J. Gasper
Assistant Professor of Biology
863.680.4998
bgasper@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Eric W. Kjellmark

Eric W. Kjellmark
Professor of Biology
863.680.6284
ekjellmark@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Gabriel J. Langford

Gabriel J. Langford
Assistant Professor of Biology
863.680.4318
glangford@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Joseph M. Macedonia

Joseph M. Macedonia
Assistant Professor of Biology
863.680.4325
jmacedonia@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Nancy M. Morvillo

Nancy M. Morvillo
Professor of Biology
863.680.6240
nmorvillo@flsouthern.edu

 

Chemistry & Physics

Photo: Roger G. Biringer

Roger G. Biringer
Visiting Assistant Professor of Chemistry
863.680.4316
rbiringer@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Carmen Gauthier

Carmen Valdez Gauthier
Professor of Chemistry
863.680.4589
cgauthier@flsouthern.edu

Photo: An-Phong Le

An-Phong Le
Assistant Professor of Chemistry
863.680.4132
ale@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Deborah Bromfield Lee

Deborah Bromfield Lee
Assistant Professor of Chemistry
863.680.4316
dbromfieldlee@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Jason M. Montgomery

Jason M. Montgomery
Assistant Professor of Chemistry
863.680.4322
jmontgomery@flsouthern.edu

 

Communication

Photo: William Allen

William Allen
Assistant Professor of Communication
863.680.4820
wallen@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Mary Beth Bradford

Mary Beth Bradford
Assistant Professor of Communication
863.680.3895
mbradford@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Robert S. Drake, Jr.

Robert S. Drake, Jr.
Instructor of Communication
863.680.4133
rdrake@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Cara Mackie

Cara Mackie
Assistant Professor of Communication
863.680.3863
cmackie@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Theresa MacNeil

Theresa MacNeil
Assistant Professor of Communication
863.680. 4158
tmacneil@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Alex Ortiz

Alex Ortiz
Associate Professor of Communication
863.680.3003
aortiz@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Michael Trice

Michael Trice
Associate Professor of Communication
863.680.4155
mtrice@flsouthern.edu

 

English

Photo: Erica H. Bernheim

Erica H. Bernheim
Assistant Professor of English
863.680.4324
ebernheim@flsouthern.edu

Catherine R. Eskin
Associate Professor of English
863.680.4345
ceskin@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Keith L. Huneycutt

Keith L. Huneycutt
Professor of English
863.680.4344
khuneycutt@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Rebecca R. Saulsbury

Rebecca R. Saulsbury
Associate Professor of English
863.680.4348
rsaulsbury@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Peter H. Schreffler

Peter H. Schreffler
Associate Professor of English
863.680.4343
pschreffler@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Claudia S. Slate

Claudia S. Slate
Professor of English
863.680.4342
cslate@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Margaret Taylor

Margaret Taylor
Assistant Professor of English
863.680.4240
mtaylor2@flsouthern.edu

 

History & Political Science

Photo: R. Bruce Anderson

R. Bruce Anderson
Associate Professor of Political Science
863.680.4311
randerson2@flsouthern.edu

Photo:James M. Denham

James M. Denham
Professor of History
863.680.4312
jdenham@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Kelly McHugh

Kelly McHugh
Assistant Professor of Political Science
863.680.4313
kmchugh@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Francis Hodges

Francis R. Hodges
Professor of History
863.680.4301
fhodges@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Nicholas J. Steneck

Nicholas J. Steneck
Assistant Professor of History
863.680.4962
nsteneck@flsouthern.edu

 

Horticultural Science

Photo: Malcolm M. Manners

Malcolm M. Manners
Professor of Citrus and Horticultural Science
863.680.4337
mmanners@flsouthern.edu

Photo:

N. Curtis Peterson III
Professor of Citrus and Horticultural Science
863.680.4491
npeterson@flsouthern.edu

 

Mathematics & Computer Science

Dr. Lisa DeCastro

Dr. Lisa DeCastro
Visiting Professor of Mathematics
863.680.4852
ldecastro@flsouthern.edu

Kenneth D. Henderson, Jr.

Kenneth D. Henderson, Jr.
Professor of Computer Science and Mathematics
863.680.4328
khenderson@flsouthern.edu

Daniel D. Jelsovsky

Daniel D. Jelsovsky
Associate Professor of Mathematics
863.680.3748
djelsovsky@flsouthern.edu

Dr. David Mathias

Dr. David Mathias
Visiting Professor of Computer Science
863.680.6283
hmathias@flsouthern.edu

Susan A. Serrano

Susan A. Serrano
Associate Professor of Mathematics
863.680.4331
sserrano@flsouthern.edu

Aaron David Valdivia, Jr.

Aaron David Valdivia, Jr.
Assistant Professor of Mathematics
863.680.4316
avaldivia@flsouthern.edu

 

Modern Languages

Photo: José M. Garcia

José M. Garcia
Associate Professor of Spanish
863.680.4309
jgarcia@flsouthern.edu

Melissa Garr

Melissa Garr
863.680.4201
mgarr@flsouthern.edu

 

Music

Photo: Brian S. Brink

Brian S. Brink
Associate Professor of Music
863.680.4574
bbrink@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Lawrence R. Burke

Lawrence R. Burke
Associate Professor of Music
863.680.4136
lburke@flsouthern.edu

Dr. Fen-Fang ChenFen-Fang Chen
Assistant Professor of Music
863.680.4230
fchen@flsouthern.edu

 

Photo: Mary Elisabeth Gibbs

Mary Elisabeth Gibbs
Assistant Professor of Music
863.680.4232
mgibbs@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Jo A. Jossim

Jo A. Jossim
Professor of Music
863.680.4213
jjossim@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Michael Parks

Michael Parks
Visiting Assistant Professor of Music Education
863.680.4229
mparks@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Paula K. Parsché

Paula K. Parsché
Associate Professor of Music
863.680.4233
pparsche@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Diane W. Stahl

Diane W. Stahl
Associate Professor of Music
863.680.4215
dstahl@flsouthern.edu

Photo: John H. Thomasson

John H. Thomasson
Professor of Music
863.680.4737
jthomasson@flsouthern.edu

 

Music Adjunct Faculty

Photo: Rimma Bergeron-Langlois

Rimma Bergeron-Langlois
Adjunct faculty – violin
863.680.3867
gabriel.rimma@hotmail.com

Photo: Colleen Blagov

Colleen Blagov
Adjunct faculty – flute
863.680.4575
flautoprimo@hotmail.com

Laura Brenner
Adjunct faculty – viola
863.680.4733
lbrenner@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Paul Butcher Paul Butcher
Adjunct faculty – trumpet, jazz
863.680.4398
pbutcher@flsouthern.edu

 

Photo: David Coash

David Coash
Adjunct faculty – percussion
863.680.5020
davecoash@gmail.com

Photo: Pamela Cole Pamela Cole
Adjunct faculty – piano
863.680.5099
pcole@flsouthern.edu

 

Photo: Christina Dominski-Sale Christina Dominski-Sale
Adjunct faculty – voice
863.680.6262 – 2
CDMEZZO1@aol.com

 

Photo: Sue Fee Sue Fee
Collaborative piano staff
863.680.3099
cfee@tampabay.rr.com

 

Patrick Fleitz
Adjunct faculty – music appreciation
863.680.4229
pfleitzpiano@gmail.com

Photo: Valerie Gillespie

Valerie Gillespie
Adjunct faculty – saxophone
863.680.3923 – 1
valerie@valeriegillespie.com

Photo: Melissa Gilmer

Melissa Gilmer
Adjunct faculty – voice
863.680.6262 – 1
mgi3641314@aol.com

Ian Goodman

Ian Goodman
Adjunct faculty – percussion (drum set)
863.680.4229
jazzma3110@hotmail.com

Michael Hill
Adjunct faculty – double bass
863.680.4271
bassorlando@aol.com

 

Photo: Stacey McColley Stacey McColley
Adjunct faculty – clarinet
863.680.6239
swmccolley@mac.com

 

Jay Mueller

Jay Mueller
Adjunct faculty – double bass (jazz)
863.680.4229
jmuel58@att.net

Photo: Anne Parrette Anne Parrette
Adjunct faculty – cello
863.680.4216 – 2
anneteach65@yahoo.com

 

Michael Sedloff
Adjunct faculty – strings pedagogy
863.680.4284
cello57@aol.com

Richard Sparrow

Richard Sparrow
Adjunct faculty – horn
863.680.3968
rsparrow@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Mark Switzer

Mark Switzer
Adjunct faculty – classical guitar
863.680.4271
mswitzer@hccfl.edu

Photo: Fernando Traba

Fernando Traba
Adjunct faculty – bassoon
863.680.3923 – 2
ftraba@msn.com

Photo: Diana Wade

Diana Wade
Collaborative piano staff
863.616.6421
dianawade@ymail.com

Photo: Ivan Wansley

Ivan Wansley
Adjunct faculty – music appreciation; woodwind pedagogy
863.680.4494
iwansley@flsouthern.edu

 

Psychology

Richard R. Burnette, Jr.

Richard R. Burnette, Jr.
Professor of Psychology
863.680.4198
rburnette@flsouthern.edu

Bruce W. Darby

Bruce W. Darby
Professor of Psychology
863.680.3096
bdarby@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Leilani Goodmon-Riley

Leilani Goodmon-Riley
Assistant Professor of Psychology
863.680.4587
lgoodmon-riley@flsouthern.edu

Deah S. Quinlivan
Assistant Professor of Psychology
863.680.4476
dquinlivan@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Patrick L. Smith

Patrick L. Smith
Associate Professor of Psychology
863.680.4477
psmith@flsouthern.edu

 

 

 

Religion & Philosophy

Photo:Drew M. Dalton

Drew M. Dalton
Assistant Professor of Philosophy
863.680.4949
ddalton@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Sara Fletcher Harding

Sara Fletcher Harding
Professor of Religion
863.680.4185
sharding@flsouthern.edu

Photo: R. Frank Johnson

R. Frank Johnson
Professor of Religion and Philosophy
863.680.4182
rjohnson@flsouthern.edu

Photo: W. Alan Smith

W. Alan Smith
Professor of Religion
863.680.4204
wsmith@flsouthern.edu

Photo: W. Waite Willis, Jr.

W. Waite Willis, Jr.
Professor of Religion
863.680.4183
wwillis@flsouthern.edu

 

Criminology

Photo: Lisa M. Carter

Lisa M. Carter
Assistant Professor of Criminology
863.680.4307
lcarter@flsouthern.edu

Photo:Edwin L. Plowman

Edwin L. Plowman
Professor of Sociology
863.680.4304
eplowman@flsouthern.edu

Photo: Risdon N. Slate

Risdon N. Slate
Professor of Criminology
863.680.4339
rslate@flsouthern.edu

 

Theatre Arts

Mary T. Albright

Mary T. Albright
Instructor of Theatre Arts
863.680.4137
malbright@flsouthern.edu

Paul D. Bawek

Paul D. Bawek
Associate Professor of Theatre Arts
863.680.4184
pbawek@flsouthern.edu

James F. Beck

James F. Beck
Associate Professor of Theatre Arts
863.680.4227
jbeck@flsouthern.edu

Dr. Christianne RollDr. Christianne Roll
Assistant Professor of Musical Theatre
863.680.3015
croll@flsouthern.edu